top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKanyisa Booi

we ARE people

Using humans as security blankets ends in tragedy I'm afraid they might leave or I might actually stay so... I hold on tight and wrap them around my body I will not release them Lest they want to stay And if they do I might not need them in the morning so...


Maybe they should leave

Some of us are afraid people will leave Some of us are afraid people might actually stay Some of us are afraid were people


I am people that stay I stay upset I stay resentful I stay loving so patiently I stay kind for the Bible tells me so I am people I stay communicating I stay holding children of people who do not pull in Who did not pull out Did not hold it down Who did not hold me up


I stay I stay afraid I stay confused I stay feeling unloved I stay - I am people

Some of us are afraid people will leave us. Some of us are afraid people might actually stay. Some us are afraid because we are people.


We are people bleeding all over the place Cuts and bruises from staying and leaving Not quite certain if we were ever wanted We look left look, we look right We look left again because we aren't quite right or enough We cross roads and minds of people who actually stay...we are people


Afraid of being left we open doors Pull all stops We never yield, we run when in exhaustion they tell us "...alright then go!" We run from the beating of our hearts Wish the people were right when they called us heartless Leaving would be sweeter if we didn't feel resentment We the people demand to know -who asked them to stay?!


Those who actually stay, cry for us We crying for people we leave On both sides of this wall, we are people

I stayed, you left me You stayed and watched me leave Why did you stay I was so sure you would leave?


I am people I scared you, I scarred you, I drove you mad I knew for sure people would never stand for that

Yet you stayed I reminded you everyday how desperately I needed you I thought you'd be gone Now I must just be happy You didn't stay actually you are just here

So I will leave and you will thank me when you come to I will stay and you will resent me when you to I am people - what say you

70 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page